Sermon Series: “Ephesians: A Church Built on Christ”

FCC   -  
The Big Idea:
In a world where churches increasingly seem to be built on celebrity, feel-good doctrine, and a killer social media presence, a church built primarily on the teachings of Jesus seems like a relic of an ancient and more conservative past! Well, even though we at FCC try to have a killer social media presence, we are actually working much harder to be an Ephesians 2:20 church–a church and a people that are strong because we’re built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone. Friends, in a world that is constantly tempting you to be built on outward appearances and fleeting emotions, if you aren’t anchored in Christ Jesus as your cornerstone, you will be lost and adrift when life gets hard. Come join us as we study the book of Ephesians together and we learn how to be a church and people who are Built on Christ!

Memory Verses:
Weeks 1–13: Ephesians 2:8-10 – 8 For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, 9 not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. 

Weeks 14–22: Ephesians 4:15-16 – 15 Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ, 16 from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love. 

Daily Bible Reading Plan:
Read one chapter a day (Eph 1 on Mon, Eph 2 on Tue, etc.)
 Series Plan:
  • Week 1, Sun, Jan 12 – “Our Calling” (Ephesians 1:1-2)
  • Week 2, Sun, Jan 19 – “The Father’s Purpose” (Ephesians 1:3-6)
  • Week 3, Sun, Jan 26 – “The Son’s Mission” (Ephesians 1:7-10)
  • Week 5, Sun, Feb 2 – “The Spirit’s Assurance” (Ephesians 1:11-14)
  • Week 6, Sun, Feb 9 – “The Church Triumphant” (Ephesians 1:15-23)
  • Week 7, Sun, Feb 16 – “The Gift of God” (Ephesians 2:1-10)
  • Week 8, Sun, Feb 23 – “Identity Found” (Ephesians 2:11-13)
  • Week 9, Sun, Mar 1 – “Breaking Down Barriers” (Ephesians 2:14-18)
  • Week 10, Sun, Mar 8 – “Built Tough, Built Together” (Ephesians 2:19-22)
  • Break – “Christian Courage in a World of Coronavirus”
  • Week 11, Sun, Mar 22 – “Counterfeit Callings Exposed” (Ephesians 3:1-13)
  • Week 12, Sun, Mar 29 – “The Prevailing Power of a Supreme Love” (Ephesians 3:14-19)
  • Week 13, Sun, Apr 5 – “He Is Able” (Ephesians 3:20-21)
  • Week 14, Sun, Apr 12 – “Owner’s Manual for the Church” (Ephesians 4:1-16)
  • Week 15, Sun, Apr 19– “The Life of Lizards and Stallions” (Ephesians 4:17-24)
  • Week 16, Sun, Apr 26 – “Witness of Grace” (Ephesians 4:25-32)
  • Week 17, Sun, May3 – “The Smell of Jesus” (Ephesians 5:1-7)
  • Week 18, Sun, May 10 – “The Light Bearers” (Ephesians 5:8-21)
  • Week 19, Sun, May 17 – “The Sacrificial Head” (Ephesians 5:21-33)
  • Week 20, Sun, May 24 – “The Submissive Wife” (Ephesians 5:22-33)
  • Week 21, Sun, Jun 7 – “The Godly Household” (Ephesians 6:1-9)
  • Week 22, Sun, Jun 14 – “The Armor of Faith” (Ephesians 6:10-24)

Join us as we build ourselves up in Christ and dive into scripture! “Plan Your Visit” at one of our locations at fccgreene.org.